Derbyshire Tourist Information

Derbyshire Tourist and Visitor Information with links to heritage, nature and tourist attractions, many with brief details of disabled access. Derbyshire is a county associated with The Peak District the oldest of the UK's National Park. Derby is the county town and administrative centre, while the spa town of Buxton is the unofficial capital of The Peak District (The Peak District National Park also includes areas of Cheshire, Staffordshire and South Yorkshire) The principal towns are Ashbourne, Buxton, Bakewell, Castleton, Chesterfield, Derby, Long Eaton and Matlock. The area has strong traditional customs like Well Dressing which takes place in many towns and villages of the area during the summer months (details can be found at Ashbourne's Royal Shrovetide football match played on Shrove Tuesday and Ash Wednesday each year, lasting all day taking in the entire town and some unusual rules. There is also Castleton with its Garland Ceremony on Oak Apple Day on 29th May.


Official Tourist Websites


Other Tourist Websites


Tourism Videos


Buxton - Spa Town from


National Parks

Peak District National Park -


Wildlife Trusts and Nature

Derbyshire Wildlife Trust -



Search our site